Linux Distro for Programming

I currently use Linux Mint 16 for programming, it comes with a lot of programs in the repos for things like graphics. Before on Slackware, I had to compile Inkscape from source or using Slackpkgs – either way was dependency hell. I like the Mate interface, and older ones like Fluxbox. The process of setting up a LAMP server is very different between Slackware and Mint – Apache comes with quite a few modules preloaded on Linux Mint like mod_rewrite (which is used by WordPress).

I dislike using non-free software like Google Chrome – but I use that for videos and listening to the radio. One day I hope to use Gentoo again, but I’d have to find the correct kernel module for my atheros ethernet chip. Right now, I don’t have the time to spend correcting errors and compiling packages from source. I have a lot of work to do on Paradise Office.

Linux Mint Gentoo Linux

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

